Travail - Justice - Solidarite
Guinea Power
US History

The president of Guinea is normally elected by popular vote for a five-year term; candidate must receive a majority of the votes cast to be elected president. The president governs Guinea, assisted by a council of 25 civilian ministers appointed by him. The government administers the country through eight regions, 33 prefectures, over 100 subprefectures, and many districts (known as communes in Conakry and other large cities and villages or "quartiers" in the interior). District-level leaders are elected; the president appoints officials to all other levels of the highly centralized administration. Since the 2010 Presidential Elections, the head of state has been Alpha Condé. There has been no legislative branch since 2008, so there is no check on a power of the president. But now the people are all about "la democratie."
This item is shared by Daouda S Komara with the World.
Created on 2019-03-07 at 14:34 and last updated on 2019-05-15 at 18:09.